Main Navigation
the law offices ofhoskins and penton, p.a.
We Can Help, Call Today
727-475-6448

What are the consequences for a Florida DUI?

Florida takes drinking and driving seriously, which is why the consequences for this type of crime are so severe.

Florida residents report driving after drinking too much at a higher percent than the national average, which is why it is important to know the consequences. What penalties will Floridians face for a first, second and third DUI?

First offense

The first time the police pull you over with a BAC of .08 or over, you may face these penalties:

  • Fines: Up to $2,000
  • Jail time: Up to six months
  • License suspension: Up to one year

Second offense

The second time the police pull you over with a BAC of .08 or over, you may face these penalties:

  • Fines: Up to $4,000
  • Jail time: Up to nine months
  • License suspension: Up to five years

Third offense

The third time the police pull you over with a BAC of .08 or over, you may face these penalties:

  • Fines: Up to $5,000
  • Jail time: Up to five years
  • License suspension: Up to ten years

It is important to note that individuals under 21 who are driving with a BAC of over .02 can face DUI consequences.

Individuals who are driving with a high BAC of .15 percent or over, driving intoxicated with a child in the vehicle, or caused an accident due to their intoxication, may face additional penalties.

It is always important to make sure you have a sober ride home, but in cases where mistakes are made, it is beneficial to know the penalties for a DUI.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information