The Consequences of Receiving a DUI Charge
Oct. 16, 2019
As a Florida driver, you know that driving under the influence is a serious problem and comes with heavy consequences. In a state where the rate of driving under the influence is higher than the national average, it is important to stay educated on legal issues. The penalties for drivers become more severe if the offense is a first-time, second-time or third-time DUI. At the Law Offices of Hoskins and Penton, P. A., we fight for your legal rights no matter the charges you are facing.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles explains that in the Sunshine State, if you are under 21 at the time of a pull-over, you can face consequences if you register a blood alcohol level above 0.02%. For those over 21, the important BAL threshold is 0.08%. For a first-time DUI offense, penalties may involve a license suspension of up to one year, fines of up to $2,000 and jail time of up to six months. A second-time DUI offense may result in a license suspension of up to five years, fines of up to $4,000 and jail time for as long as nine months. A person facing a third DUI charge could be handed a license suspension of up to 10 years, fines of up to $5,000 and jail time for as long as five years.
Additional charges and heavier penalties may be levied on drivers who face a DUI arrest with a BAL of 0.15% or higher, who have a child in the vehicle or who have been involved in an accident caused by their intoxication. To learn more about the legal issues of DUIs, visit our webpage.